School District of Shiocton Meeting of April 27, 2020

Call to Order Nichole Schweitzer, Superintendent, called the meeting to order at 6:00PM.

> Michael Bellin Jeremie Birch David Gomm Mindy Hofacker Aaron Pluger Bradley Ritchie

Stacey Warning - Attended Remotely

Others in attendance included Julie Buser

to s.19.84 (1) "Public Notice" & 19.85(1) "Exemptions" Wis. Stats.

Approval of Agenda Motion by Mr. Gomm with a second by Mr. Birch to approve the agenda as

presented.

Oath of Office The oath of office was administered by Julie Buser and election documents were

signed by the two newly elected board members; David Gomm and Mindy Hofacker.

Motion by Mr. Gomm to nominate Mr. Ritchie as Board President, with a second

by Mr. Birch.

As there were no further nominations. Mr. Ritchie was unanimously elected as Board

President.

Motion by Mr. Bellin to nominate Mr. Birch as Board Vice President, with a second

by Mrs. Hofacker.

As there were no further nominations. Mr. Birch was unanimously elected Board Vice

President.

Motion by Mr.. Birch to nominate Mr. Bellin as **Board Treasurer**, with a second by

Mr. Pluger.

As there were no further nominations. Mr. Bellin was unanimously elected as Board

Treasurer.

Motion by Mr. Pluger to nominate Mr. Gomm as **Board Clerk**, with a second by Mr.

Bellin.

As there were no further nominations, Mr. Gomm was unanimously elected as Board Clerk.

School Newspaper Motion by Mr. Gomm with a second by Mr. Bellin to name the Times Press as the

school's official newspaper. Motion carried.

CESA #6 Delegate Motion by Mr. Bellin with a second by Mr. Birch to elect Mr. Gomm as the CESA #6

Delegate. Motion carried unanimously.

WASB Delegates Motion by Mr. Birch with a second by Mrs. Hofacker to elect Mr. Gomm as the

WASB Delegate. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Mr. Bellin with a second by Mr. Pluger to elect Mr. Ritchie as the

Alternate WASB Delegate. Motion carried unanimously.

Depository Motion by Mr. Gomm with a second by Mr. Bellin to approve Wolf River Community

Bank as the official school depository. Motion carried.

Legal Services Motion by Mr. Gomm with a second by Mr. Bellin to approve Buelow, Vetter,

Buikema, Olson, and Vliet, LLC; Strang, Patteson, Renning, Lewis & Lacy; and Menn

Law Firm as the law firms Shiocton School District will utilize. Motion carried.

Committees The Board Committees appointments were made as follows:

Personnel Committee:

Selection

* Chair - Brad Ritchie

Committee Members: Aaron Pluger, Mindy Hofacker

Policy Committee:

* Chair - Stacey Warning

Committee Members: Mike Bellin, Mindy Hofacker

Finance Committee:

* Chair - Jeremie Birch

Committee Members: Brad Ritchie, Aaron Pluger

Safety Committee:

* Chair - Jeremie Birch

Committee Members: Mindy Hofacker, Dave Gomm

Non-voting members include Amber George, Butch Bunnell and Shiocton PSLO

Building & Grounds:

* Chair - Dave Gomm

Committee Members: Mike Bellin, Aaron Pluger

Non-voting members include Doug Pahlow, Dave Wilcox, and Dick Keuttel

Child Care:

* Chair - Stacey Warning

Members: Mike Bellin, Mindy Hofacker Non-voting members include Heidi Drath

Co-Curricular Representative – Mike Bellin

Wellness Committee Representative - Dave Gomm

Minutes Motion by Mr. Birch with a second by Mrs. Hofacker to approve minutes of the April

14th, 2020 meeting as presented. Motion carried.

Treasurer's Report Motion by Mr. Bellin with a second by Mr. Pluger to accept the Treasurer's Report as

presented. Motion carried.

Financial Statement Motion by Mr. Gomm with a second by Mr. Bellin to approve check numbers

204216-204372 in the amount of \$181,976.54 for the General, Special Education,

Food Service, and Community Service Funds. Motion carried.

Public Comment None.

Reports CESA 6 - Mr. Gomm

Finance Committee Update - Mr. Birch Superintendent's Report - Mrs. Schweitzer

Public Hearing

Motion by Mr. Pluger with a second by Mrs. Hofacker to open a Public Hearing for a Waiver of Instructional Hours for 2019-2020 School Year. Motion carried.

Call to Order by School Board President

Explanation of the Purpose of the Waiver Hearing - Mr. Ritchie

Presentation and Discussion of School Board Resolution for the Waiver of Instructional Hours Requirement for the 2019-2020 School Year pursuant to Wis.

State Stat. 118.38(1) and (1m) - Mrs. Schweitzer

Questions and Comments from the Public

Motion by Mr. Bellin with a second by Mr. Gomm to close the Public Hearing and

reconvene to the Regular Board meeting. Motion carried.

Discuss and Take Action on the Waiver of Instructional Hours Requirement for the 2019-2020 School Year. Motion by Mr. Pluger with a second by Mr. Bellin to approve the Waiver of Instructional Hours Requirement as presented. Motion carried.

New Business

Discuss and Take Action to adopt Alternative Dates for High School Graduation and other events. Motion by Mr. Bellin with a second by Mr. Birch to approve the Alternative Dates as presented. Motion carried.

Discuss and Take Action on resignation: Taressa Wildenberg, SCCC assistant. Motion by Mr. Bellin with a second by Mrs. Hofacker to accept the resignation of Taressa Wildenberg. Motion carried.

Discuss and Take Action on Digital Learning Days Coordinator stipend. Motion by Mr. Birch with a second by Mr. Bellin to approve the Digital Learning Days Coordinator stipend as presented. Motion carried.

Discuss and Take Action on Job Description/Contract with School Medical Advisor and related Emergency Nursing Services Policies for the 2020-2021 school year. Motion by Mr. Gomm with a second by Mrs. Hofacker to approve the Job Description/Contract as presented. Motion carried.

First Reading of the 2020-2021 Co-Curricular Handbook

Old Business Select School Board Scholarship Awardee

Upcoming Events Finance Committee meeting on May 4, 2020 at 5:00PM

Board of Education meeting on May 4, 2020 at 6:00PM Personnel Committee meeting on May 5, 2020 at 5:00PM

Next Meeting May 4, 2020 at 6:00PM

Date/Time

Adjournment Motion by Mr. Bellin with a second by Mr. Gomm to adjourn the meeting. Motion

carried. Meeting adjourned at 7:21PM.

School Board President
School Board Clerk